Is Marmite Vegan? 🌿 Full FAQ

Yes, Marmite™ is vegan-friendly. It is suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Marmite is very compatible with a vegan lifestyle.

In this article, learn more about Marmite and how it agrees with a vegan lifestyle, as well the differences between this spread and similar products.


🌱

Further support your vegan diet, check out our vegan multivitamin page.

🌱


Marmite Ingredients

marmite ingredients

  • Vegetable extract
  • Salt
  • Yeast extract
  • Spice extract
  • Niacin
  • Vitamin B12
  • Riboflavin
  • Folic acid
  • Thiamin
  • NIACIN (nicotinic acid, vitamin B3, C6H5NO2)

Here’s some additional information about the more ambiguous ingredients in Marmite:

  1. Vegetable Extract: This is mainly peanuts and soya.
  2. Yeast Extract: Made from brewer’s yeast and heated for glutamic acid.
  3. Spice Extract: Mainly extracted from celery.

This is where the main flavour of Marmite comes from, peanuts, soya, yeast, and celery. It’s an odd mix, but this is why many either love or hate this successful spread.

Is Marmite Good for You?

Marmite great for your eyes and skin. Marmite contains the B vitamins, B1 (thiamin), B2 (riboflavin) and B3 (niacin). These vitamins in Marmite are essential for breaking down carbohydrate into glucose and for keeping your eyes and skin healthy.

Marmite is also particularly useful to a vegan diet because it contains a good amount of Vitamin B12 – which is something that most vegan dietary restrictions make difficult to get enough of.

Marmite also contains a good amount of Vitamin B1, which a derivative of this vitamin can help improve your overall heart health.

Mice studies have shown that with more B1 they recovery from heart attacks faster and even develop fewer heart conditions.

The B3 in Marmite is also good for exercise, it can help dilate your blood vessels to get more oxygen to your muscles to improve a workout.

An unusal benefit of Marmite to your health is how it may affects insects. Marmite contains large amounts of Vitmain B which is thought to repel mosquitos. More research is needed on this claim, but it may benefit you in this area.

But yes, Marmite is a good option to put on your toast – but is bread vegan?

Is Marmite Peanut Butter Vegan?

Is Marmite Peanut Butter Vegan?

Yes, Marmite Peanut Butter is vegan. It combines traditional Marmite with peanut butter. With both of these spreads being vegan, it won’t impede on any dietary restrictions.

Marmite Peanut Butter is crunchy peanut butter combined with the yeasty flavours of Marmite. If you like Marmite and peanut butter, this may be worth a try.

marmite vs vegemite

Vegemite vs Marmite: What’s the Difference?

Both Marmite and Vegemite are suitable for a vegan diet. What makes them different is the taste. Vegemite is believed to taste like a stronger version of Marmite. Marmite is claimed to be slightly sweeter than Vegemite.

Vegemite is the Austrailian equivalent of Marmite. They have very similar ingredients, yeast based with vegetable extracts.

Vegemite contains more vitamin B1, B2 and B9, but Marmite has more vitamin B3 and B12 – which is more necessary to a vegan diet.

If you’re looking for options to improve your nutrient intake on a vegan diet check out our vegan multivitamin page.